2016-17 Designations

group_fletes_elizondog_oldokhbayar_shields_gsateluma_prinsterg_zhangz_villanueva2016-17 DESIGNATIONS

The following designations and promotions for the 2016-17 school year were announced May 20 via Special Orders No. 61 and 62.

Battalion Commander
First Lieutenant Gregory Prinster

Battalion Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major Gabriel Elizondo

Battalion Executive Officer
Second Lieutenant Alejandro Gastelum

IMG_4638_henio_fletes_bestBravo Company Commander
Staff Sergeant Hector Villanueva

Charlie Company Commander
Staff Sergeant Bayar-Erdene Oldokhbayar

Delta Company Commander
Staff Sergeant Zenghui Zhang

Band Company Commander
Staff Sergeant Robert Shields

Drum Major
Sergeant Francisco Fletes


The final all-school assembly of the 2015-16 school year was held May 19 in the Memorial Chapel.

Emran Babak received the Douglas MacArthur Medal for displaying “exceptionally meritorious leadership and demonstrated duty performance as the Battalion Commander.”

Having successfully piloted a solo flight, Mauro Garza received his wings from Academy President Charles McGeorge.

Styles Fountain received the McDonough Trophy and John Curley received the Elmer E. Bohm ’13 Memorial Award, which is given “to the graduating athlete who as attained the highest scholastic average during his senior year.”

Delta Phi Honor Society and Future Business Leaders of America state competitors were recognized for their performance April 25 at the Future Business Leaders of America State Leadership Conference in Springfield, MO. Afterward, sophomore FBLA competitor Francisco Fletes presented the speech which won him second place in the Public Speaking I category.

Teacher of the Month Awards were presented to LT Sean Peters and CPT Steven Manning; Student of the Month Awards were given to Derek Nguyen and Garrett Stafford

SFC John Biddle and 1SG Randal Jacobson received the Presidential Gold Star for their leadership during the Formal Inspection process. Several sports awards were also presented to members of the lacrosse and tennis teams.

Most Improved Tennis Player: Robert Shields
Ming-Lee Lowe ‘88 Award for Most Valuable Tennis Player: Alejandro Gastelum

Junior Varsity Tennis Lettermen
Gerardo Calanda
Christian Foster
Jonathan James
Tyler Jansing
Ricardo Maceda

byFoster2Varsity Tennis Lettermen
Angel Alcaraz
Alejandro Gastelum
Ethan Istas
Brennan Morand (Team Captain)
Joseph Mulvey
Robert Shields

Lacrosse Awards
Most Valuable Player: Cody Allen
Offensive Player of the Year: Sean Fitzgerald
Defensive Player of the Year: Emiliano Gonzalez
Best Middle School Player: Nehemiah Simmons
Colonel Award: Griffin Gilman