Sports Briefs: Tennis, High School Track & Baseball


The MMA tennis team finished up its season at districts May 16 on the Truman State University courts versus Kirksville, Moberly, Columbia Independent and Mexico high schools.

Singles Results
Pablo Rodriguez: 1st Round – Bye
2nd Round – Lost to Dorian Sneddon (Kirksville HS) 5 – 7, 2 – 6
Jose DeLaVega: 1st Round – Lost to Ruslan Pultz (Kirksville HS) 3 – 6, 0 – 6

Doubles Results
Brennan Morand/Nishan Khanal: 1st Round – Bye
2nd Round – Lost to Christ Armstrong/Jake Flood (Moberly HS) 2 – 6, 4 – 6

Jingting Fu/Qi Li – 1st Round – Bye;
2nd Round – Lost to Andrew Whitworth/Lary Dye (Mexico HS) 1 – 6, 1 – 6

“We knew this was going to be a tough challenge for us,” coach MAJ Mike Pemberton said. “Even though the outcome wasn’t what we wanted, I was proud of our effort and attitude throughout the tournament.  We fought hard and never quit.”


MMA competed in the Class 3, District 4 track meet in Centralia on May 16. As the sole MMA representative, senior Hugh Harris finished third in the 110M hurdles with a time of 16.10 (PR) and fourth  in the 300M hurdles with a time of 42.74.

Instead of attending his graduation ceremony, Harris qualified for the state meet with his performance May 23 at the sectional meet. He placed third in the 300M intermediate hurdles with a personal best of 41.39 seconds. Harris also competed in the 110M high hurdles, where he finished in 15.67 seconds (PR) to earn fifth place, narrowly missing qualifying for the state meet.

“By himself Harris outscored one school and tied another at the meet,” Athletic Director CPT John Noel said.


Six MMA cadets were named All-District baseball players in late May. The All-District Team is selected by the coaching staffs of the schools who participated in MMA’s district tournament: Mexico, Macon, Moberly, Fulton and Kirksville. The All-District First and Second teams are determined on merit, regardless of position, for the player’s performance during the district tournament and during the season. Coaches may not vote for their own players.

First Team: junior catcher Anthony LaViola and sophomore centerfielder Andrew Whitaker.

Second Team: senior pitcher Vincent Burke; sophomore shortstop Sean Fitzgerald; junior outfielder Corry Tega; junior outfielder Elliot Gianaris.